White is right

… If you’re rice, maybe

Joelle Kayembe, South African model – she’s dark-skinned and unbelievably gorgeous!

Why do dark skinned women feel less attractive than light skinned women? Why do we spend so much money on lightening and bleaching products? 

… Well not me, I’d rather treat myself to a spa day. 

I’m an Indian woman, and while I’m not the darkest person, I’m closer to black than I am to white. And it gets “worse” –  when I spend time in the sun… I begin to look like a shadow.

 

 

Me, on a normal day – no crazy sun tan yet but so brown!

 

 

And guess what – I have no problem with that. With so many body issues, it’s liberating to feel comfortable in my skin.

I’ve grown up around people who wished they were lighter in complexion, and those who were lighter never wanted to venture out in the sun. Were they afraid that their lightness would disappear forever?

The Indian community can be really superficial (even mean) regarding skin colour, the guys want to date the light skinned girls, and both male and females dub dark skinned people as less attractive. Often you’ll hear people say “she’s so beautiful and fair”

Or “she’s pretty but she’s dark”

Honestly, when my skin looks really dark after sun exposure, I don’t feel attractive because I’m not used to seeing myself like that, however I get over that quickly when neon colors pop off my skin and it looks amazing. Just look…

Neon looks great on tan and dark skin tones.

 

Instead of using filters to lighten and brighten my skin in photos, I use them to make myself a shade darker. Because who cares? F.U society.

There is nothing sexier than confidence, and while we’re all insecure about our bodies (no matter how gorgeous we are), we can change and improve certain things – work on our fitness to get a leaner body; squat for a perkier bum; change the colour of our hair; trim and shape our monster eyebrows… There’s so much to deal with so why must we now worry about our skin colour too? It can be altered, but at what cost? Sensitive skin that can be easily damaged does not appeal to me, no matter how fair it is. I just want to have clean, clear skin with no pimples.

Obviously light skinned women are beautiful, and I’m not trying to slam lighter skinned individuals. I just want to emphasize that being dark skinned does not make you any less attractive. Enjoy your shade. 

6 thoughts on “White is right

  1. Hey, I really liked going through your post – I can appreciate you put effort into it, so well done keep it up! Very cool, interesting (and stylish too!) Come check out my blog if you get the time, I recently posted my favourite Met gala looks
    Keep blogging!
    Love,
    Mimi
    p.s. key point i took from this: all women are beautiful, and thats ok

    Liked by 1 person

  2. What a lovely post! I am DAYGLO white when I am not in the sun (EVERY winter). Like, I am translucent to the point that you can see my veins, and it gets pretty gross if you ask me. I have always coveted the dark gorgeous color of my cousin who is half black, and my older sister who is also half black. I have never quite understood the desire to have pale skin like mine. EVERY single blemish and scar I have stands out like a huge purple blotch on the white pasty skin I have. I think that you are beautiful, and I applaud you for embracing your skin tone! Huzzah!

    Like

    1. Haha thank you so much! I love your comments, always makes me smile 🙂 and your posts make me laugh and I need it now, exam stress! Thank you lovely xx

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Happy to make you smile! Xoxoxoxo good luck with exams! I got through mine about 2.5 weeks ago!

        Like

Leave a Reply

