All aboard

Entrepreneurship – The only ship worth boarding.

Starting a business is easy, keeping it afloat is the difficult part – there are MILLIONS of things to do and ideas shoot out of me like a bullets from a pistol in the hands of a trigger happy fanatic who drank too much and who’s waving it around like he just doesn’t care (phew that’s a mouthful) my point-Β ideas are easy. You need the drive and the passion to follow it through. You need to be wholly invested in an idea and that is the hardest part.

I started a business in high-school, made a profit and closed shop. It was small, but that freedom of being financially independent (not having to ask for an advance on my allowance) stuck with me. Since then, I have always wanted to have something of my own – but I have never been so determined about this until recently, when the thought of having someone else dictate how many hours I should work and how to work felt suffocating. Of course, I do not mind working, I welcome it – it’s the best way to learn and improve skills, however, if there is one thing I value, it’s making my own decisions – and how I spend my time is a very important decision.

Distance learning has enabled me to study however and whenever I wanted to – in my pajamas; on the floor; day or night; before bed; on the beach… and so on. I crave a career that allows me this freedom, I would much rather invest 168 hours a week on my own business, than 45 hours a week on someone else’s. Wouldn’t you?

 

Leave a Reply

